April 25, 2024, 07:30:55 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Use of grease on joints..  (Read 12069 times)

Offline wilycoder

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Use of grease on joints..
« on: February 09, 2007, 11:36:06 AM »
Hello,

I am new to organic chemistry.

I have been searching for an answer for this question for a few days now:

Lets say I am doing atmospheric distillation of organic compounds. To be anal about safety, I grease all the joints properly. When I have collected my distillate in the receiving flask, do I need to remove the grease from the receiving flask before getting the distillate out of the flask? Or is silicone grease completely inert like teflon?

Thanks!

Offline FeLiXe

• Theoretical Biochemist
  • Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +34/-7
  • Excited?
    • Chemical Quantum Images
Re: Use of grease on joints..
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2007, 01:37:57 PM »
grease is definitely a problem and you often find traces of it if you take an NMR spectrum

I think the best way to get your substance out of the flask is by using a pipet.
Math and alcohol don't mix, so... please, don't drink and derive!

Offline alphahydroxy

• Mole Snacks: +7/-6
  • I'm a lumberjack, and I'm OK !
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2007, 09:00:57 AM »
I tend not to bother greasing joints unless they are being subjected to vacuum or are to be under an inert atmosphere. In these cases I tend to just not worry too much about the grease, as it can usually just be stripped off when columning products. Having said all that, I do tend to see grease in my NMRs!

Offline Ψ×Ψ

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +8/-4
  • ooh, shiny!
    • carbon-based curiosities
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2007, 01:23:45 PM »