April 19, 2024, 06:01:25 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Net Ionic Equations - Questions  (Read 56894 times)

gingi

Net Ionic Equations - Questions
« on: January 29, 2005, 06:39:07 PM »
Hi guys ! It's my first time around your part of the virtual world...
I have a problem... big one acually...
I need to write a lab report which is due in 2 days and I have 16 problems to solve...
All of them consist of
1) writing the molecular equation (which I know how to do)
2) Complete Ionic equation (no idea)
3) Net ionic equation (no idea)

These are few examples

*) Pb(NO3)2 + H2SO4
*) Pb(NO3)2 + Na2S2
*) Na2S2 + HCL
*) CH3COON + HCL
*) CdCl2 + Na2S
*) CuSo4 + Na3PO4

((all the above are (aq)))

It'll be so so awosome if someone will actually be able to solve the examples and explaic how he did it. Hope it'll happen...
thanks alot !

dexangeles

Re:Net Ionic Equations - Questions
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2005, 06:43:06 PM »
i believe you need to show us your work first
that's the rules  ;)

gingi

« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2005, 07:08:42 PM »
I simply don't know what are ionic queation and how to compose them...
The examples I wrote above are an exapmles for metathesis reactions - which means that the part of writing the reaction itself it's not a problem (AX + BY --> AY + BX).
But I need help with ionic equations...

Offline jdurg

• Banninator
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +106/-23
  • I am NOT a freak.
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2005, 09:33:07 PM »
If you can write a molecular equation you can EASILY write an ionic equation.  An ionic equation is basically the same thing as a molecular equation, except instead of the whole molecules who write out the ions for those molecules that are aqueous.  (So for example, with NaCl you'd write it out as Na+ and Cl-, while silver Calcium Carbonate would be written as CaCO3 because it doesn't dissolve to form ions).