April 25, 2024, 01:16:10 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: How do you calculate initial & final values associated with emission of H atom?  (Read 18186 times)

Offline kentucky_girl

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hi all. This is my first time on these boards, and I'm hoping you'll be able to help me out. I'm studying for a quiz I have tomorrow, and I've realized that I missed one on my homework that I didn't notice, and I don't know how to answer it correctly.

Question: One of the emission lines of the hydrogen atom has a wavelength of 94.9 nm.

a). In what region of the electromagnetic spectrum is this emission found?
      microwave, gamma ray, infrared, radio frequency, ultraviolet, x-ray, visible

b). Determine the initial and final values of n associated with this emission.

Thank you all in advance. :)
« Last Edit: October 25, 2007, 07:26:16 PM by kentucky_girl »

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: emission lines of the hydrogen atom
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2007, 06:53:21 PM »
Please read forum rules.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline kentucky_girl

Re: emission lines of the hydrogen atom
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2007, 07:01:30 PM »
Please read forum rules.

I'm not sure which infraction you're referring to. Pehaps that I didn't show any attempt to work the problem? I apologize for any infraction that I may have committed. If it came across that I needed my question answered immediately, I didn't mean for it to sound that way.

As for the problem, I think the answer for a may be ultraviolet, http://lot.astro.utoronto.ca/images/spectrum.png judging by that spectrum. I really have no idea how to figure out the initial and final n values. I know that change in n = final - initial, but I'm not sure how to determine these values.

Offline agrobert

• Chemist