April 26, 2024, 03:34:59 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: basic questions about analysing GC results  (Read 6180 times)

Offline coolestsoul

• Mole Snacks: +0/-3
basic questions about analysing GC results
« on: March 19, 2008, 06:39:28 PM »
Hi...

I am a complete beginner as far as the use of GC as aan analytical technique is concerned. I had few questions and answers to them would really help me out in my preliminary work:

1. Is the area of the GC peaks proportional to concentration of the species in the sample in mass terms (e.g. g/mL) or in molar terms (e.g. mol/mL)?

2. Actually, this one is I guess similar to the first question. If I wish to add a known amount of a species as an internal standard, should I add it in a manner such that its final concentration is constant in all samples in molar terms or in mass terms?

3. I am getting peaks of butanol when I run a butanol solution in water through my GC which instead of sharp peaks are triangular in nature with an abrupt and sharp beginning (desired??) and a lot of trailing towards the end? What may be causing this?

Thanks and regards.

Offline Rivet

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Re: basic questions about analysing GC results
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2008, 07:15:33 PM »
1.  Both.  You may calibrate your instrument on either basis.

2.  See above.

3.  There are a numerous causes for tailing such as using a less-than-ideal stationary phase or as a result of a poor injection.  I think we need more information about your protocol to answer this one.

Offline coolestsoul

• Mole Snacks: +0/-3
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2008, 07:24:01 PM »

I guess I was vague while asking he question. Kindly consider the situation below: