March 28, 2024, 08:59:15 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Suggest names for chemical plant  (Read 14083 times)

Offline glanceup

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Suggest names for chemical plant
« on: April 08, 2008, 06:11:48 PM »
Hi Chemists -

I'm a writer writing a novel that takes place in an industrial town in Pennsylvania in the 60s.

I'm trying to figure out a good name for a (fictional) chemical company, something akin to the (real name) American Cyanamid.  The name should suggest that the factory makes some nasty stuff.

Here's some names I've thought of but I don't know if they make sense.  What do you think? 

"National Chloro Phenyl Co."
"National Chlorophenyl Ketone Company"
"American Ketone Company"

Your informed suggestions greatly appreciated...

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: Suggest names for chemical plant
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2008, 06:16:33 PM »
Those are all good, I think they're plausible for 1960's.  Or you can just go with a family name, lots of smaller companies founded in the 20's and 30's grew into the giants of today during the 40's and 50's-- thick of multinational companies like Roche, Bayer, etc.
Hey, I'm not judging.  I just like to shoot straight.  I'm a man of science.

Offline glanceup

« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2008, 06:20:19 PM »
Any of that stuff nasty?   :-\   Smells, hazardous waste, environmental pollution?

Offline Rabn

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +28/-13
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2008, 02:37:33 AM »