April 25, 2024, 07:03:18 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Please help with Atomic Orbitals.  (Read 3759 times)

Offline NewtoAtoms

• Mole Snacks: +8/-2
Please help with Atomic Orbitals.
« on: May 06, 2008, 08:31:23 PM »
Hello Everyone,

I am new to Chemistry and wondering if anyone can help.

I just studied the 4 quantum numbers, n, l, ml, ms and I understand it. 
I then studied the Atomic orbitals, s, p, d, f, g, h

I then came to a statement in my textbook which read "hydrogen's electron has the same energy whether it be in the 2s orbital or a 2p orbital. 

My question is (please excuse it, remember I am new) but does each orbital have a s,p,d orbitals?  What I mean by that is n=2 has a value of l=1,0 which is a p and an s orbital.  However if n=3, then l=2,1,0.  Am I to assume this is a completely different element, and NOT the same element as n=2?

I hope my question makes sense, he he he... this quantum chemistry is TOUGH for us new to chemistry!

Thank you everyone.

Offline dtbcn

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Re: Please help with Atomic Orbitals.
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2008, 10:12:30 PM »
n = principle quantum number
l = angular momentum quantum number (describes theshape of an electron's orbital)
ml = magnetic quantum number (orientation of the orbital in space)
ms = spin (positive/negative)

'n' can be found by looking at the horizontal rows (period) ex. K has a principle quantum number of 4.

'l' is always less than n but greater or equal to 0. the S orbital are the alkali and alkali earth groups, P orbital are the groups from boron to the noble gases. D orbitals are the transition metals. S=0, P=1, D=2. ex. for K l=0

'ml' is the orientation in space. If 'l' = 0 'ml' can only be 0, if 'l' = 1 'ml' can be 1,0,or -1, 'l' = 2 'ml' can be 2,1,0,-1,-2. ex. for K ml can only be 0.

ms is either + or - so +1/2 or -1/2. ex. K is part of the alkali group so the spin is +1/2. If it was calcium, the spin would be -1/2.