March 29, 2024, 06:03:30 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: buffer&volume..  (Read 10778 times)

hiro

buffer&volume..
« on: May 13, 2005, 08:22:09 AM »
to determine the pka of chloroacetic acid, a quantity of 0.1M sodium hydroxide is added to 50ml 0.1Mchloroacetic acid, and the pHmeasured. from the measured pH, 2.85, it is known that pka for chloroacetic acid must be 2.85. wt volume (in ml) of 0.1M sodium hydroxide was added to the 50ml 0.1Mchloroacetic acid?

i can't find the volume...

Offline AWK

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +555/-93
Re:buffer&volume..
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2005, 09:01:49 AM »
A buffer solution that shows pH=pKa contains the same number of moles, both a salt and an acid.
AWK

hiro

« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2005, 09:07:52 AM »
mm...i am not good at cal..
do u mean the ans is actually 50ml? same as the quantity of chloroacetic acid?

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1799/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2005, 11:48:25 AM »
Yes, that's what he meant. (Later edit: sorry, that's not what he meant, my mistake! It should be half the volume, read my post #7 below.)

Search the net for Henderson-Hasselbalch equation.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2005, 05:10:31 PM by Borek »
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

GCT

« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2005, 01:32:22 PM »
to determine the pka of chloroacetic acid, a quantity of 0.1M sodium hydroxide is added to 50ml 0.1Mchloroacetic acid, and the pHmeasured. from the measured pH, 2.85, it is known that pka for chloroacetic acid must be 2.85. wt volume (in ml) of 0.1M sodium hydroxide was added to the 50ml 0.1Mchloroacetic acid?

i can't find the volume...

when pH=pKa you're at the half equivalence point,