April 24, 2024, 03:02:59 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Help calculating molarity for 10X PBS  (Read 74664 times)

Offline merlinthewitch

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Help calculating molarity for 10X PBS
« on: June 23, 2009, 03:49:53 PM »
Hey all!

I'm a university student employed in a lab for the summer doing a bunch of immunohistochemistry. PBS (phosphate buffer) is a common solution used in the procedures so I've made it up several times using a recipe already present in the lab. The recipe is for a 10X PBS solution but no where does it say what the molarity is. I'm embarrassed to say that I've actually forgotten how to calculate this. I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction or give me a refresher. Most of the molarity calculation help on the internet seems to be for simpler problems, like adding one compound in grams to water and then figuring out the molarity. I can do that but I'm having problems remembering how to do more complicated problems.

The ingredients for the 10X buffer solution I use in the lab is as follows:

80 g sodium chloride (NaCl)
2g potassium chloride (KCl)
21.7 g Sodium phosphate heptahydrate (Na2HPO4.7H2O)
2g potassium phosphate monohydride (KH2PO4)
Total volume of water will be 1L

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you,
V

Offline sjb

• Global Moderator
  • Mole Snacks: +222/-42
Re: Help calculating molarity for 10X PBS
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2009, 04:24:18 PM »
The ingredients for the 10X buffer solution I use in the lab is as follows:

80 g sodium chloride (NaCl)
2g potassium chloride (KCl)
21.7 g Sodium phosphate heptahydrate (Na2HPO4.7H2O)
2g potassium phosphate monohydride (KH2PO4)
Total volume of water will be 1L

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you,
V