April 25, 2024, 08:08:37 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Lewis structure questions  (Read 7169 times)

Offline matt1234

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Lewis structure questions
« on: September 30, 2009, 08:31:05 PM »
Hey guys,
My book doesnt provide answers and im new to chem, looking for someone to confirm my answer is possible. I look on google for most but can find these.
Thank you.

Offline matt1234

Re: Lewis structure questions
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2009, 08:41:22 PM »
and another:

Offline renge ishyo

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +67/-14
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2009, 08:48:31 PM »
e and g look fine as far as I can see. I actually think your approach for b (ozone) is rather interesting, but the accepted way of drawing it's lewis structure can be seen here:

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Ozone-resonance-Lewis-2D.png

Offline matt1234

« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2009, 08:57:15 PM »
yes i dont understand this, there is more then one way to fill their shells.  Most people told me this would be like math, but i dont see it, alot of times its a guessing game for me. I like math and physics cause is usually clear to me, this is not.  Are there any rules or laws with reguards to situations such as these?

Offline matt1234

« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2009, 09:00:52 PM »
After reviewing that site in closer detail it appears an electron shifted from the center oxygen to the one on the left.  How can we assume things such as these?

Offline renge ishyo

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +67/-14
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2009, 12:01:03 AM »