March 29, 2024, 07:14:57 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Why does DNA have a minor and major groove?  (Read 27817 times)

Offline G O D I V A

• Mole Snacks: +2/-1
Why does DNA have a minor and major groove?
« on: October 04, 2009, 07:25:30 PM »

What is the reason for DNA having a major and minor grove?

Since I'm majoring in biochemistry my professor wanted an answer from (1) a biological point of view and (2) from a chemistry point of view, but I cant think of any

Offline Wreath

• Mole Snacks: +1/-0
Re: Why does DNA have a minor and major groove?
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2009, 01:43:30 AM »
well, it's quite useful when enzymes supposed to do something with DNA are searching for the "starting sequence". in major groove, you can always recognize the base pairs without unwinding the double-helix. it's coded by order of the groups CH3, H-bond donor, H-bond acceptor and H, which is different for each combination of base pairs. (you obviously must know the 5´-> 3´ ordering either.) grooves are usefull to be recognized with lot of DNA - protein links structures, like helix-turn-helix pattern, or zinc fingers, which are bonding to the grooves.
hope it helps, my brain isn't working so much after waking up  :D

Offline aHerraez

• Mole Snacks: +7/-1
    • Biomodel
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2009, 07:29:08 PM »
I'd say that the reason is chemical. The biological viewpoint is of (functional) consequences, mostly what Wreath has said.

The chemistry: stereochemistry, each part of the DNA molecule has a specific conformation, so that the two nucleotides in a base pair cannot confront each other symmetrically. (Hard to explain with words, better look at some molecular models)
As a consequence, one side of the base pair is wider than the other, has more exposed groups.

Offline ggs

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2009, 03:21:58 PM »
Hi ya all,

Biological way of view is a consequences of the chemical one:)