March 29, 2024, 03:01:51 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Platinum and Manganese Sulfate. Please Help  (Read 9132 times)

Offline roosevelt64

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Platinum and Manganese Sulfate. Please Help
« on: December 16, 2009, 06:22:58 PM »
Ok so I'm a High School Student and today in the chem lab i put some distilled water and one drop of manganese sulfate together and then charged two pieces of platinum in the conducting manganese sulfate with positive and negative electrodes, but the positive and the negative electrodes yielded different colors of manganese, one side a red and then brown, and the other a kind of yellow. I was wondering if what it yielded was two different ions of manganese. But I'm not sure. He said to give him an explanation tomorrow. So I could use all the help that I could get. Thank you.

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1799/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Platinum and Manganese Sulfate. Please Help
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2009, 03:00:34 AM »
I think you are on the right track.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline roosevelt64

« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2009, 05:07:50 PM »
Well, my Chem teacher said that that was correct but now he wants a detailed explanation apparently, and thats where I get stuck. I guess that I'm not doing very well at being totally precise. So any in depth ideas or answers would be most helpful. Thank you

Offline Grundalizer

• Mole Snacks: +19/-31
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2009, 05:27:36 PM »
Sounds like you have some oxidation reduction going on.  Mn, as with some other metals, have strikingly different colors depending on their oxidation state.  I am almost positive that Mn2+ is a yellow color, and we know Permanganate ion MnO4- is a violet deep purple (Which has Mn in the +7 oxidation state)