March 28, 2024, 06:39:35 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: CaSO4.2H2O+NaOH question  (Read 20848 times)

Offline Double D

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
CaSO4.2H2O+NaOH question
« on: January 01, 2010, 09:35:09 PM »
Greetings Ladies and Gents.
This is my first post here on the forum. After lurking in the background, it appears this is a great knowledge base for chemistry so I thought you may be willing to answer a/some questions.
Thanks in advance.

I'm a weekend home biodiesel producer.
The byproduct after transesterification contains methanol, water, biodiesel, excess caustic, glycerol, and soap.
I'm wondering if the excess caustic can be converted into Calcium hydroxide through the introduction of Gypsum.

CaSO4.2H2O + 2NaOH ->  2NaSO4 + Ca(OH)2 +2 H2O

There is generally a small excess of caustic left over (if any) that hasn't been converted into soap especially following distillaion of the excess methanol.
This is not a necessarily a feasibility question but just to satisfy my curiosity.
Any takers?

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1799/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: CaSO4.2H2O+NaOH question
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2010, 04:52:08 AM »
CaSO4.2H2O + 2NaOH ->  2NaSO4 + Ca(OH)2 +2 H2O

This idea won't work, equilibrium for this reaction is far to the left. Calcium sulfate is the least soluble of all substances involved.

Note: it is Na2SO4.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline Double D

« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2010, 11:49:52 AM »
Borek,
You say Calcium sulfate is the least soluble. My thought was that the CaSO4 is soluble in Glycerol (per wiki), which is soluble in water.
Is that how you determine that the equilibrium will shift to the left, solubility?
Could there be any Calcium Hydroxide that is formed? Not necessarily ending up with the balanced equation as written?