April 25, 2024, 11:08:29 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: grad student seeking research advice  (Read 9573 times)

Offline acidpants

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
grad student seeking research advice
« on: January 25, 2010, 04:34:01 AM »

Hi. I'm an organic chemistry grad student, a bad one. Classes and TAing has been fine and fun,  but I’ve had tremendous difficulty with research. With only two semesters left in my grad career, I have only about 20% of what I need to get accomplished actually completed. As is the nature of research, experiments often do not work. However, I feel I am not learning from my mistakes as should be the case. After discussion with my prof about how to proceed the answer is simply, “just try something else.” I am becoming more frustrated and uninterested in my topic my education progresses. Basically I am looking for perhaps a little inspiration and some reading material on how to get things done in a laboratory setting. I get along great with my prof, but I have never seen her work on her own research in the lab. We are a somewhat smaller school, and I dont believe I can approach other PhDs for advice on my research without her finding out.

Recommended websites or books with advice for organic synthesis or other general wet chemistry practices would be appreciated as well.

Thanks

Offline Mitch

• General Chemist
  • Administrator
  • Mole Snacks: +376/-3
  • "I bring you peace." -Mr. Burns
    • Chemistry Blog
Re: grad student seeking research advice
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2010, 05:08:12 AM »
There are books on organic laboratory techniques, if that is what you're asking. Have you had a vacation in a while? It might just be a case of burning out which happens to all of us near the end.
Most Common Suggestions I Make on the Forums.
1. Start by writing a balanced chemical equation.
2. Don't confuse thermodynamic stability with chemical reactivity.
3. Forum Supports LaTex

Offline stewie griffin