Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Diluting CS2  (Read 5879 times)

Offline tsd3

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Diluting CS2
« on: March 31, 2010, 02:16:10 PM »
Hi Everyone-

I am a graduate student working on the chemical ecology of a yeast - fungus interaction. We have recently learned that our yeast colonies are producing carbon disulfide (CS2) in headspace, and we are trying to test how this compound influences fungal growth.

The problem is:

Since CS2 is extremely volatile, we need to dilute CS2 with another compound so that we can achieve a reliable elution rate. Our colonies also produce ethanol in headspace, and CS2 is soluble with alcohols.

My question is:

How would I go about creating a dilution of CS2 that I could get a reasonable elution rate from, maybe somewhere in the realm of 0.1 M? Or can we just combine by volume (eg 1% solution of CS2). Also, what is the appropriate compound to mix it with? We are nervous to foul up since CS2 is pretty toxic.

We are just biologists pretending to be analytical chemists, so any help would be greatly appreciated!

thanks,

seth

Offline Mitch

• General Chemist
  • Administrator
  • Mole Snacks: +376/-3
  • "I bring you peace." -Mr. Burns
    • Chemistry Blog
Re: Diluting CS2
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2010, 03:58:49 PM »
Do you flow any gases to your colonies or just leave it to air? I was thinking you could bubble a gas through the carbon disulfide to enrich the air around the colonies. A picture of your setup would be beneficial, we're chemists not biologists.
Most Common Suggestions I Make on the Forums.
1. Start by writing a balanced chemical equation.
2. Don't confuse thermodynamic stability with chemical reactivity.
3. Forum Supports LaTex

Offline tsd3

• Very New Member
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2010, 07:50:15 PM »
The basic setup is as follows: