April 26, 2024, 05:20:26 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: HPLC Problem  (Read 5048 times)

Offline groover

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
HPLC Problem
« on: December 27, 2010, 09:03:36 AM »
Hi, I am an undergraduate Chemistry student who has taken on a major HPLC experiment independent study and I need a bit of guidance from those who... well... know what they're doing!!!

I have created a standard solutions and have created a calibration plot for my experiment. I am now trying to reflux solids into a sample solution. Now here is my problem:

For instance, I'll take 30g of a solid and solvate it with 100mL of a liquid. I'll then filter and sequence it on the HPLC and get a nice, clean peak. From my standards, I know exactly which peak it is in the chromatogram. However, when it comes to calculations, I'm having a problem determining concentration in going from the chromatogram of my sample and plotting it on the calibration curve.

What calculation do I need to be doing to correct for the dilution of the solid to create the sample solution???

Thanks so much, in advance.

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: HPLC Problem
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2010, 09:35:26 AM »
Give more details. Seems like either you are missing the most basic things, or you have not posted everything.

Or both ;)
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline groover

« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2010, 09:43:14 AM »
I'm working on a method to determine capsaicin in a solid sample.
So my standard has an area of about 15mAU and when I run a sample, I'll get an area of about 9mAU. However, I know I can't calculate a concentration of the capsaicin in the sample because there is a dilution that I'm doing when I put the solid into a solution. I'm so lost!