April 23, 2024, 11:44:00 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Talc + Water + Citric acid?  (Read 8273 times)

Offline positronix

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Talc + Water + Citric acid?
« on: December 13, 2010, 02:26:09 PM »
Hello,

I'm very new to chemistry and I try to separate magnesium and silicon from talc.

I read that talc should be a strong base because it contains two hydroxide groups, is this right? So for neutralization and for an exchange reaction I tried this:

Mg3Si4O10(OH)2 + H2O + C6H8O7

But how should I calculate that what will form of this?

Offline TheUnfocusedOne

• Mole Snacks: +6/-5
Re: Talc + Water + Citric acid?
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2010, 04:25:21 PM »
Couple of questions:

Why are you trying to do this?  Both those are commerically cheap if your trying to save money.
What exactly is C6H8O7?
Are you trying to neutralize the base?  You'll need an acid for that
What exactly are you asking for at the end?

More detail on what you're doing would be very helpful.
"Like most heavy metals, thallium is highly toxic and should not be used on breakfast cereal"

Offline positronix

« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2010, 05:17:46 PM »
Couple of questions:

Why are you trying to do this?  Both those are commerically cheap if your trying to save money.
What exactly is C6H8O7?
Are you trying to neutralize the base?  You'll need an acid for that
What exactly are you asking for at the end?

More detail on what you're doing would be very helpful.

I want to do this to see how it works, to learn. It would be boring to buy Mg and Si directly.

C6H8O7 is citric acid.

Yes Im trying to neutralize it and tried it with citric acid.

I would like to calculate a reaction equation with the mentioned reactants.

I just read that hydroxides do not dissolve in water so I think this citric acid should help. But it might be to weak acid, I might need HCl but I don't have access to that.

Offline TheUnfocusedOne

« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2010, 09:52:30 AM »