April 24, 2024, 09:44:01 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Silicate rocks  (Read 12095 times)

Offline vmelkon

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +28/-10
Silicate rocks
« on: April 29, 2011, 01:07:24 PM »
Hi,

Companies don't extract compounds from silicate rocks because they are rather nonreactive, right?
Such as Potassium feldspar which can be found in some granite rocks. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Potassium_feldspar

I'm not an expert on rocks and specially that "silicate" anion which seems to have all sorts of forms (example : Potassium feldspar = KAlSi3O8) but acids such as H2SO4 and HCl and HNO3 won't react with most silicate rocks, right?

Would HF react with it? Anything else?

I imagine that companies prefer oxides/hydroxide/carbonate (such as iron oxides) and chlorides/halides (NaCl for getting Na and Cl2) for extracting elements or preparing other compounds.

Offline Eudoxus

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Re: Silicate rocks
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2011, 11:18:04 AM »
Well it's certainly possible to extract materials from silicate rocks, it just isn't cost effective. For instance, why go through the horribly complex process of breaking down, for instance, the silicate mineral mica for its magnesium, when you can simply take the otherwise near-worthless stone dolomite ([Mg,Ca]CO3) and dissolve away the carbonate for it? Or why try extracting iron from silicate minerals when there's so much hematite, magnetite, limonite, ilmenite, chromite, goethite, and other iron-bearing ores aplenty that require one tenth the effort to process?

One day if Earth's mineral resources become depleted enough, we may find ourselves needing to extract metals from bodies with mere trace amounts of metal and nothing you could call ore--but we're not there yet, and won't be for another century or two.

Offline vmelkon

• Chemist
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2011, 09:35:51 PM »
Thank you for the reply. It must be a cost issue otherwise they would have done it by now.