April 26, 2024, 10:18:17 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Is It Time For Me To Re-Think My Career Path?  (Read 6124 times)

Offline Guitarmaniac86

• Mole Snacks: +31/-2
  • Medicinal Chemist
Is It Time For Me To Re-Think My Career Path?
« on: July 13, 2011, 04:40:04 AM »
I graduated last year with a BSc in chemistry. I achieved a 2ii (58.5%) which was not a massive shock since I went from a high first to a 2ii in second year and couldnt make the drop back up in final year.

I was on course for a first/2i but I failed to hit the target. I actually had to leave uni in my first year after three months due to illness. A year later they re instated me and I got a first. I was so happy, but when second year hit, I got ill again, panicked and started re learning first year material. By doing this I neglected a lot of second year revision. I was so scared of losing my good high grades I tried to learn everything at once.... And I got a 2ii. Final year went by ok but illness struck again. I went from a 64% average to a 58% average. Had I kept my 64% average I would have left with a 2i and a lot happier. I have felt like a failure ever since.

I have currently enrolled onto an MSc in drug discovery and have spent the past year saving up for it. Also, the past year, I have been re learning all the Organic chemistry I can.

My career plan was simple. Obtain 2i or first at BSc. Get onto a PhD in the field of orgaic chemistry.

Then I had to re think and find an MSc then a PhD, but I really do not think I will get anywhere with that 2ii hanging over me. My lecturers tell me that I am a good strong student who has had a run of bad luck and it will all work out. All I have to do is stay positive. Two organic lecturers were impressed with my knowledge of organic chemistry.