April 24, 2024, 12:53:01 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Am I too stupid for chemistry?  (Read 10006 times)

Offline Vomis58

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Am I too stupid for chemistry?
« on: October 20, 2011, 11:48:50 AM »
I just can't figure out why I can never do well in the class. I get the concepts well enough, I feel like I understand them all quite easily.

I studied for about 30 hours for my mid terms, when I took it I felt really good about it and I thought I probably got an A. I was confident in my answers but I double checked all of them and they all checked out.

When I got the test back I got a 68%. Why am I so f&#^$*@ stupid? This is how most tests work for me, I am confident about the score and when I get it back it is a D or an F. Am I just too stupid for chemistry?

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: Am I too stupid for chemistry?
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2011, 12:28:58 PM »
Well, you've never posted to this board an assigned problem that you couldn't figure out and needed help with, or one you got wrong and couldn't see why..  So there's really no way for us to tell you what your real problem is.  

*[EDIT}*

You've said you've just started school after a military stint last April, and you found mathematics daunting.   Maybe you need more preparation across all subjects.  The sciences aren't really like studying for literary subjects.  You can't lock yourself in a room and study, study, study facts until they've been burned into your skull, then breeze the next exam, then forget it all, because topics build over time.  Time spent practicing problems would have been well spent (I can't be sure if you did that or not.)

Let's see an exam question you thought you nailed, but didn't.
Hey, I'm not judging.  I just like to shoot straight.  I'm a man of science.

Offline Vomis58

« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2011, 12:38:45 PM »