March 28, 2024, 05:53:04 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: When would you use mixed solvents for recrystallisation of a compound?  (Read 52984 times)

Offline SumerianKing

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Thats simple is the question:
When would you use mixed solvents for recrystallisation of a compound?

As I have never done this before, I will appreciate the help. Thank you!

Offline herrhansen

• Mole Snacks: +2/-0
Re: When would you use mixed solvents for recrystallisation of a compound?
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2011, 02:12:02 PM »
If your impurities are soluble in a polar solvent it can be a good idea to first dissolve your impurities + compound and then crash out your product by adding a non polar solvent forexample. Then you would wash out both polar and nonpolar residues. It would dissolve a broader range instead of just using one solvent.

A solvent system like diethyl ether/MeOH is sometimes seen forexample.

Offline Honclbrif

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +58/-10
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2011, 02:13:16 PM »
Usually when you can't find a single solvent which exhibits good recrystallization behavior.
Individual results may vary

Offline SumerianKing

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2011, 02:42:43 PM »
If your impurities are soluble in a polar solvent it can be a good idea to first dissolve your impurities + compound and then crash out your product by adding a non polar solvent forexample. Then you would wash out both polar and nonpolar residues. It would dissolve a broader range instead of just using one solvent.

A solvent system like diethyl ether/MeOH is sometimes seen forexample.

Thank you for your response. What od you mean exactly by "crash" of my product.
Thanks

Offline fledarmus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +203/-28
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2011, 04:33:45 PM »