April 18, 2024, 06:18:25 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Fluorescence Spectroscopy  (Read 8139 times)

rywilbe

Fluorescence Spectroscopy
« on: October 18, 2005, 11:48:57 PM »
I'm new here, just about to have my B.S in ps/chemistry. Im doing some undergrad research in fluorescence spectroscopy and just wondering if anybody else is doing some similar research.

Oldtimer

Good luck - Anything oddly interesting come up yet?
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2005, 12:41:28 AM »
There are obviously some aspects of spectroscopy that can be very interesting. We always flouresce mud samples to look for presence of hydrocarbons. There should be something more interesting to do with it both Biologically and Scientifically in Engineering fields.

Which direction are you leaning?

Andy
{I'm not doing a Thesis, just being polite}

rywilbe

Re:Fluorescence Spectroscopy
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2005, 01:36:51 PM »
nothing super interesting yet. im studying solvametric effects on the fluorescence of Diethylaminocinnimaldehyde, you know like in polar and nonpolar solvents

Offline Dude

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +42/-9
  • I'm a mole!
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2005, 02:55:12 PM »
Regarding what Oldtimer mentioned, I did some work for about 1 year making/testing "molecular beacons".  They are an interesting application in the biological field using fluorescence, although perhaps beaten to death by now.  Check out www.molecularbeacons.org for an extensive list of articles.  The seminal work was done by a guy named Tyagi at the Public Health Institute.

Offline constant thinker

• mad scientist
  • Mole Snacks: +85/-45
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2005, 07:44:25 PM »
Sorry to sound dumb here but.. Flourescence Spectroscopy is kind of like turning off all the lights and using a black light, Right? You use "tracers" (for lack of a better word) sometimes to pick specific things like blood stains and other things.