April 19, 2024, 02:21:05 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Ammonia/Ammonium experiment  (Read 8617 times)

Offline towels

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Ammonia/Ammonium experiment
« on: March 19, 2012, 08:59:39 PM »
Hi everyone.

I'm in my first year of chemistry at university and our professor has presented us with an interesting experiment. He's acquired a sample of fermentation waste at a local brewery and wants to know how much ammonia and ammonium is in the sample(mass ammonium+ mass ammonia/ liter sample)

We have to devise the experiment ourselves. Now I've had a few problems and would like to know what you guys think. I'm going to start by filtering the sludge then adding HCl to form the following reaction:

HCl+NH3--> NH4Cl

I was planning on adding NaOH to convert it back to NH3 then doing a distillation(possibly steam assisted?) to evaporate the NH3 but I need some way to stop it evaporating after that.

Then I was planning on doing a titration but I'm not sure what to use as a titrant or an indicator.

Thanks for the help guys.

Towels

Offline fledarmus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +203/-28
Re: Ammonia/Ammonium experiment
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2012, 09:35:24 PM »
Wow, that's quite a problem for first-year chemistry!

I'm not sure I follow your experimental plan so far. How do you plan to use either the HCl addition or the NaOH addition/distillation to tell you have much ammonia or ammonium you have in your initial sample?

Offline towels

• Very New Member
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2012, 10:58:06 PM »