March 28, 2024, 07:46:09 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: I could really use some help interpreting this H-NMR spectrum.  (Read 15088 times)

Offline MaximumCupcakes

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hello all - thanks for taking the time to read. I'm really having problems with spectroscopy in general, so any help would be very much appreciated!

My compound's formula is C10H11O2Br. The IR spectrum clearly shows an -OH peak and a carbonyl peak (1689 cm-1)

H-NMR Data: http://img36.imageshack.us/img36/5506/hnmr.jpg

Summary:
-Two peaks at 1.3 ppm. I'm unsure whether these are singlets or a doublet. (6H)
-Quintet at 3 ppm (1H)
-Triplet at 7.6 ppm (1H)
-Triplet at 7.9 ppm (1H)
-Triplet/Multiplet at 8 ppm (1H)
-There's also an odd peak at 11 ppm labeled "exchanges with D2O. I haven't ever seen this before. (1H)

I have C-NMR and MS data, but I'm trying to work through these first.

Attempt at a solution:
Honestly, I'm not very good at this. My best guess is that this compound contains a monosubstituted benzene ring, with the 5 hydrogens around the ring. The other 6 hydrogens must be part of two methyl groups. Am I on the right track here?

Offline sjb

• Global Moderator
  • Mole Snacks: +222/-42
Re: I could really use some help interpreting this H-NMR spectrum.
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2012, 04:52:02 PM »
Hello all - thanks for taking the time to read. I'm really having problems with spectroscopy in general, so any help would be very much appreciated!

My compound's formula is C10H11O2Br. The IR spectrum clearly shows an -OH peak and a carbonyl peak (1689 cm-1)

H-NMR Data: http://img36.imageshack.us/img36/5506/hnmr.jpg

Summary:
-Two peaks at 1.3 ppm. I'm unsure whether these are singlets or a doublet. (6H)
-Quintet at 3 ppm (1H)
-Triplet at 7.6 ppm (1H)
-Triplet at 7.9 ppm (1H)
-Triplet/Multiplet at 8 ppm (1H)
-There's also an odd peak at 11 ppm labeled "exchanges with D2O. I haven't ever seen this before. (1H)