April 20, 2024, 09:33:34 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Shelf life of stock reagents  (Read 20506 times)

Offline Tagher

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Shelf life of stock reagents
« on: May 01, 2012, 10:06:46 AM »
Hi,
I'm a forensic scientist and I'm new to my lab and I was looking at the reagents we use for chemical testing and I'm a little concerned that no one in my lab knows the shelf life from manufacture or expiration once opened of the chemicals we use. I have been looking up as best I can this info on the net, but some of it is really hard to locate. I should also mention that my background is bio, not chem so I'm doing the best I can. Two of the reagents I can't find a shelf life for are O-dianisidine tetrazotized (fast blue b) and disodium salt alpha naphthyl phosphate or 1-naphthyl phosphate disodium salt hydrate- Both of these reagents we use to make our acid phosphatase reagent.  And I can't find the info on the manufacturer's website. I can email them, but thought it might be easier to ask here first. And I hope this is in the right forum section.
Thanks

Offline Jasim

• Mole Snacks: +15/-5
  • Analytical chemist, passionate about chemistry
Re: Shelf life of stock reagents
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2012, 12:28:20 PM »
Your lab should have guidelines regarding expiration of chemicals. If it doesn't, then I suggest someone take the initiative to make some and make them official.

Here are some general guidelines we use in the analytical lab (should be similar work to a forensic lab if you are doing GC, LC...etc.):

Expiration of high-grade water is one month after opening bottle.
Exp. of solid reagents is 3 years after opening bottle, unless otherwise noted.
Exp. of organic solvents is 1 year after opening bottle, unless otherwise noted.
Exp. of in-lab mixed chemicals (meaning you mix them) should be 1 month or 3months to 1 year for pure organics.