March 28, 2024, 10:32:55 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: How to make H2SO4 soluble with an organic phase?  (Read 8097 times)

Offline curiouscat

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +121/-35
How to make H2SO4 soluble with an organic phase?
« on: July 18, 2012, 09:47:20 AM »
As a Chemical Engineer I was called to troubleshoot a hydration reaction (details later) that's taking a long time (~ 3 hrs; batch process) during production. I investigated and it seems we are having a two phase immiscible system. My suspicion at this point is that this is what is causing slow rates because of mass transfer limitations.

This is a hydration reaction of a high boiling point (100+ C) aliphatic alkene using 60-70% H2SO4 in a stirred tank. This forms a sulfate intermediate which later we boil with H2O to give an alcohol.

Is there a co-solvent choice that would transform this into a miscible system? Or should I think of emulsifiers?

Any other suggestions?
« Last Edit: July 18, 2012, 10:30:09 AM by curiouscat »

Offline fledarmus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +203/-28
Re: How to make H2SO4 soluble with an organic phase?
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2012, 10:08:26 AM »
A third suggestion would be to accept the immiscible system and to add a phase transfer catalyst

Offline curiouscat

• Chemist
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2012, 10:45:55 AM »
A third suggestion would be to accept the immiscible system and to add a phase transfer catalyst

Thanks! That's a good lead. I had never considered that option. Just might work if I found the right PTC.

I'm not too good at this aspect of the chemistry so if there are any suggestions for an agent I'd love to hear them.