April 20, 2024, 03:32:30 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: A very unusual smell from a magnet  (Read 8355 times)

Offline science2000

• Mole Snacks: +5/-5
  • Bio/Chem Student
A very unusual smell from a magnet
« on: January 05, 2006, 11:48:34 PM »
I've been trying to dissolve a Neodymium Iron Boron magnet, and I've been putting it in different acids and stuff and the solutions all have a very unusual smell. Any ideas what this could be? It's a kinda pungent odor. I have little knowledge about rare earths and if their solutions have a characteristic odor. This might sound like an unusual question, but I want to take precautions because I was concerned maybe there's some kind of resin or organic chemical added to the alloy, which could be harmful.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2006, 02:58:36 AM by science2000 »

Chrataxe

Re:A very unusual smell from a magnet
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2006, 02:56:33 AM »
Unless its an organic acid, what would lead you to believe it was an organic compound?  But, just keep in mind what you are using.  Nd, B, Fe, whatever acid you are using, and maybe a couple of things in the air.  

Offline woelen

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +40/-2
  • The art of wondering makes life worth living...
    • Science made alive
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2006, 02:44:45 PM »