April 19, 2024, 09:39:20 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: NO2-, NO3-, ONOO- (or radical), H2O2, ... in water  (Read 3125 times)

Offline gregfridman

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
NO2-, NO3-, ONOO- (or radical), H2O2, ... in water
« on: January 08, 2013, 09:48:48 PM »
Greetings and salutations.  In my past life I was an organic chemist but it was >20 years ago and I forgot most of the analytical chemistry plus I'm sure there are many new methods.

I work with electric plasma discharges and treatment of liquids, mostly water (spring, tap, distilled, DI, and ultrapure).

I am looking for a good book to refresh my memory and something I can share with my students (Amazon links would be nice).

Specifically, I am looking for methods which involve the new spectrophotometer we're purchasing, this one: http://www.hitachi-hitec.com/global/science/uv_vis/u2900.html

We believe that the plasma treatment in atmospheric air introduces oxidizers, nitrogen compounds, and decreases pH.  I need to carefully measure water (and other liquids) properties immediately after treatment and over time.  I am also looking into aging effects.

Any help and advice would be highly appreciated.

Thank you in advance,

Greg

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: NO2-, NO3-, ONOO- (or radical), H2O2, ... in water
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2013, 11:03:13 AM »