March 28, 2024, 05:34:55 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Organic Chemistry Pedagogy  (Read 10553 times)

Offline Woopy

• Mole Snacks: +4/-8
Organic Chemistry Pedagogy
« on: January 21, 2013, 12:38:25 AM »
Hello,

I am an organic chemistry student, and I have some concerns over the way Organic chemistry is taught relative to other science classes. I come from a physical science background mostly, and ochem is presented in a very different manner from anything I've ever seen before, no math and very strange. I find my textbook (gorzynski-smith) lends itself to a memorization type of learning, because it doesn't give a lot of motivation for why anything is the way it is, but rather a laundry list of facts, such as ''sn1 favors this, sn2 that..etc). Also the class contains so much stuff that it becomes cumbersome to do anything but memorize, because for a lot of mechanisms all these weird assumptions are made and every mechanism has its own caveat.

I am of the opinion that there must be a better way to present this material, I've been told by my professor to take everything on a case by case basis. I don't know how you can take everything on a case by case basis, there must be some sort of generalizations, the universe seems to be orderly and generalizable in all other regards. Maybe I'm just doing it wrong, but I think o-chem sucks and needs a revamp.

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1799/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Organic Chemistry Pedagogy
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2013, 03:53:44 AM »
I am of the opinion that there must be a better way to present this material