April 23, 2024, 09:58:18 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Calculating Hydrogen Peroxide Concentration - the case of the missing nomograph.  (Read 5136 times)

Offline Hocks88

• Mole Snacks: +1/-0
Good day fellow scientists!

Long term reader, first time poster! How very exciting.

I have been an analyst at a pharmaceutical company for a couple of years and have recently started as a QA/QC manager for a new start-up company. So far it's going very well indeed (thanks for asking ;)), apart from one niggling issue thats being a right thorn in my side...

It seems the nomograph used for calculating the hydrogen peroxide concentration in one of our water solutions has been misplaced/destroyed/vapourised/stolen by a spooky ghost during the liquidation of the previous company based here. I was wondering if anyone knew of anywhere I could find a replacement OR could suggest a handy calculation that I could use to work it out the good old fashioned way?

The two axis are the temperature and the relative density of the solution. I have been informed by colleagues that common readings were;

* Temperature of Water/H2O2 solution = between 20-22°C
* The relative density (measured using a hydrometer) = around 1.13 - 1.14
* The nomograph would then give a relative concentration of hydrogen peroxide of 35-40%

Iv spent many hours this week trawling the internet to try and find a solution and it's starting to drive me crazy. I wouldnt bother you busy bunch if I didnt feel it necessary for my crumbling sanity! Therefore 'UTFSE' and alike responses should be used with caution as they would hurt my feeling (I only have one) greatly, and might just be enough to push me over the edge...

Thanks in advance for checking out my rather trivial problem that no doubt has a very simple solution, but any input or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.