March 29, 2024, 03:52:22 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Recrystallization  (Read 9368 times)

Offline dcunhana

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Recrystallization
« on: April 30, 2013, 02:31:46 PM »
Hi Guys,

I am a graduate student. Unfortunately I Work in my lab by myself and was hoping to get some guidance in some techniques. I have looked online. But doesn't seem to help my problem.

I  have been trying to do Recrystallization of my product. I have approximately 100mg and have been using ethyl acetate and hexane. I use a medium size Test tube to carry out my recrystallization. All I keep getting is powder like substance. I hope i could get some help with my problem and as well get answers to some questions I have in regards to Recrystallization

1. Does all compound have the capacity to recrystallize?
2. What are some good two solution system to use for recrystallization?
3. What would be the best way to purify 100mg of crude product?
4. Best way of making crystals for X-Ray crystallography. I have tried to dissolve few product in DCM and hexane, it does not seem to give me good crystals

Thanks for your help in advance.

Nap

Offline opsomath

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +50/-8
Re: Recrystallization
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2013, 02:48:45 PM »
I've posted on here several times about general guidelines for recrystallization, try searching the topic.

If you post the structure, we can probably suggest a good solvent; however, I can almost guarantee you that EtOAc/hexane is a bad choice.

Offline dcunhana

« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2013, 03:16:54 PM »
Thanks alot opsomath. I browsed and came across one of your post that I found useful for my problem.

http://www.chemicalforums.com/index.php?topic=66438.msg239102#msg239102

On another note. Why would EtOAc/hexane be a bad choice?

Offline opsomath

• Chemist
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2013, 03:54:38 PM »