April 26, 2024, 12:18:56 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Making Vicinal Diol from alkene  (Read 6825 times)

Offline darkdevil

• Mole Snacks: +3/-2
Making Vicinal Diol from alkene
« on: July 11, 2013, 09:48:52 AM »
Hi there,

I know there are numerous ways to make a vicinal diol from alkene. I tried to oxidize the alkene with cold alkaline KMnO4.. but it was a mess. I couldnt isolate my desired product. And I read papers about the  KMnO4 oxidation method, and it says it is not a good to way to make diols since it may over oxidize the alkene and the actual yield is quite low indeed.

Since oxidation of alkene to diols with cold alkaline KMnO4 is widely seen in many organic chem textbooks, but many documentations described it is not a facile way to do so. I havnt tried other methods like 1) osmium tetraoxide 2) alkene --> epoxide (with mCPBA) --> diol (with NaOH) , because I have no experience in these.

Has anyone have any experience to make a vicinal diol from alkene? What are the usual employed methods?  What are the tricks for the alkaline KMnO4 method??
Everything seems easy and straightforward in textbooks but it is completely different when come in hands. :O
THankssss!

Offline opsomath

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +50/-8
Re: Making Vicinal Diol from alkene
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2013, 10:20:38 AM »
One of the first reactions I ever did as an undergrad with no experience was oxidation of an alkene with mCPBA. It was a pretty easy, clean reaction. (I was trying to make the epoxide, not the diol, but it shouldn't be that different.) KMnO4 is well known to be a giant mess; I've never used it for alkenes but even doing Ar-CH3 to Ar-COOH was a huge pain. Brown MnO2 everywhere.

So I'd recommend the peracid reactions, either mCPBA, peracetic acid, or the like. Here are some Org. Syn. examples of how to do it:

http://orgsyn.org/orgsyn/pdfs/CV3P0217.pdf

http://orgsyn.org/orgsyn/pdfs/CV5P0414.pdf