April 27, 2024, 12:01:08 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Silylation at the 5'-OH of Uridine, low yields.  (Read 4865 times)

Offline Kilgore Trout

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Silylation at the 5'-OH of Uridine, low yields.
« on: August 30, 2013, 11:42:49 PM »
Greetings everybody, I am an senior biochemistry undergraduate working on a project which consists of protecting uridine at the 5 prime position with TBDMS-Cl. I have resulted in low yields so far (55%) even though the literature reports 97%. Any advice you all can offer would be greatly appreciated.

1. 100 mg's of uridine was co-evaporated twice with pyridine and then once with toluene (strangely, even though I use toluene, the pyridine odor is still there)
2. To a solution of uridine (100 mg, 0.410 mmol) dissolved in 2 mL of anhydrous pyridine, there was added 4 equiv. of imidazole (111.6 mg,
1.64 mmol) and 2 equiv's of TBDMS-Cl (123.59 mg, 0.820 mmol) at 0 °C under Ar atmosphere. The reaction mixture was stirred
at room temperature over night then treated with methanol (100 microliters). After stirring at room temperature for 1 hour, the solvent was removed under reduced pressure. The residue was purified by silica gel column chromatography (DCM/MeOH).

TLC shows that there is still a lot of starting material left over (uridine). I even collect three test tubes full of this stuff after c.c and I get anywhere from 50-55% yield of my product. Could it be possible that the TBDMS-Cl has been hydrolyzed?

Offline Kilgore Trout

Re: Silylation at the 5'-OH of Uridine, low yields.
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2013, 11:45:59 PM »
Or I'm thinking maybe I'm doing the co-evaporation wrong.

NMR shows a clean product, btw.

Forgot to mention more abotu the TLC (wish I had a picture: I get one spot on the bottom (uridine) and one right above it which is my product. Done with 5% MeOH in DCM.

Offline discodermolide

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +405/-70
    • My research history