April 25, 2024, 05:51:20 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Learning how to make cosmetic products  (Read 4979 times)

Offline Jiujiujitsu

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Learning how to make cosmetic products
« on: January 04, 2014, 12:33:44 AM »
About a month I acquired a cosmetics manufacturing company from my brother, the owner and company chemist. Due to health problems he can no longer run the company. I want to get myself up to speed with the chemistry background required in order to start running the company. This company researches and manufacturers cosmetic products. As of right now, I'm studying basic chemistry. I don't know if I need to study everything that a chemistry major would study in college but I was hoping to start with the subjects that I can directly apply to the company.

I know that this is an odd question and situation but any help that you all can offer would be great!

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: Learning how to make cosmetic products
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2014, 05:24:42 AM »
You should speak to the other formulation chemists in the company, and try to learn from them.  Find out what they do all day, and ask them what they need -- instruments, reagents, etc.  You will, in time, build up a good understanding of the process.

I work for a small consumer goods company, and while the owners know much about chemistry, they don't absolutely everything.  And they don't have to.  They work with the staff chemists to understand enough to get their work done.
« Last Edit: February 08, 2014, 12:50:01 PM by Arkcon »
Hey, I'm not judging.  I just like to shoot straight.  I'm a man of science.

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2014, 07:32:46 AM »
Why don't you discuss it with your brother - if he was the company chemist, he knows best what you should know.