April 25, 2024, 07:19:33 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Some questions about RP-HPLC  (Read 3777 times)

Offline J_Holland

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Some questions about RP-HPLC
« on: April 02, 2014, 04:29:09 AM »
Hi, I'm a graduation student from the Netherlands. I've got a few questions about RP-HPLC(in my case with DAD) in general, which I can't answer by googling :P

-Why can't I measure ethanol or methanol in HPLC? (Or any simple alcohols)
-I think I can't measure simple acids like: glycolic acid or methanal? But I'm not sure why.
(I guess in both cases its because they don't absorb UV light. But I'd like to know why they don't, or if there is a rule they follow)

-My mentor said its obvious that by chancing my isocratic mobile phase (MeOH/MilliQ/H3PO4) from 50/50/0,1 to 5/95/0.1 I got more separation in my analysis. And that I probably got the most separation out of it (with those solvents). I just can't seem to grasp why that's the case.

I've been searching alot but I cant seem to find the answers anywhere. If someone can help me I'd be really thankfull :)

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: Some questions about RP-HPLC
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2014, 07:34:40 AM »
-Why can't I measure ethanol or methanol in HPLC? (Or any simple alcohols)
-I think I can't measure simple acids like: glycolic acid or methanal? But I'm not sure why.
(I guess in both cases its because they don't absorb UV light. But I'd like to know why they don't, or if there is a rule they follow)

You've guessed correct, the biggest problem is the lack of a UV chromaphore.  The molecules you mention are small, so there's limited atomic interactions to absorb light.  This is the "rule" that molecules follow.