March 29, 2024, 12:46:56 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Salt bridges and Electrolysis  (Read 9560 times)

Offline Sweetmormon

• Mole Snacks: +1/-0
Salt bridges and Electrolysis
« on: August 21, 2014, 01:03:23 AM »
Ok y'all I'm really new this whole forum thing, so please bear with me. I am a starting amateur chemist, But I LOVE IT. It is really a cool passionate feeling I have to learn about chemistry, especially towards organic chemistry, the power to alter substances as you see fit through your knowledge of thermodynamics, probability, and reactivity. Anyways.. To the point, as this is my first post:

I have a question. I am totally at a loss in understanding what reaction took place in my little electrolysis experiment. I had a big ice cream bucket full of water and salt, I made a copper and graphite electrode which I made from a construction pencil lead. I took 12vdc and used the copper with the positive labeled wire from the power supply, and the graphite with the negatively labeled wire. A gas immediately started to be produced, which I assumed was Hydrogen gas. I have looked a lot of information up on the internet but this particular combination of graphite and copper I could not seem to find.

The copper rod produced no gas but began to get a yellowish/white coating on it and the water began to turn a bluish color, along with a small amount of white precipitate started floating on the surface. No smell of chlorine present. ??I was confused I thought that the copper wire (attached to the negative labeled wire from the power supply) would be negative thus producing the H2 gas and the graphite would be positively charged and start to produce the chlorine gas.

So I switched the wires on each electrode. Then an immediate smell of chlorine filled my nose and I knew it was working like I thought. But I wanted to start a new batch fresh maybe to isolate the NaOH that I would produce.
 ??? ??? ??? ???