April 25, 2024, 12:50:02 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: SSRIs and fluoride  (Read 6043 times)

Offline novicenow

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
SSRIs and fluoride
« on: September 04, 2014, 10:00:39 AM »
Greetings. I'm a psychologist, not a chemist, and came to you for an objective answer to a question about SSRI antidepressants and fluoride content. I've tried finding the answer on line, but because of the controversy about these drugs, it's hard to tell which information is straight fact and which may be bent or a misunderstanding of the chemistry. I read that SSRIs contain fluorine. 1. Is fluorine the same as fluoride? 2. What is its purpose in SSRIs? 3. Whatever adverse reactions may be possible from fluoride, do the same exist for fluorine? Thank you very much for your help. Linda

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: SSRIs and fluoride
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2014, 11:24:04 AM »
This may be a tougher question to answer than you might have thought.  So I'll try to take it, point by point:

Greetings. I'm a psychologist, not a chemist, and came to you for an objective answer to a question about SSRI antidepressants and fluoride content. I've tried finding the answer on line, but because of the controversy about these drugs, it's hard to tell which information is straight fact and which may be bent or a misunderstanding of the chemistry.

Yes, I'd suspect that's so.  I'm pretty glad you came here for help, we're glad to help, and we like to put thought into our answers, so here goes.

I read that SSRIs contain fluorine.

According to the structures at the bottom of this wikipedia page, some do, but not all: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Selective_serotonin_reuptake_inhibitor#List_of_agents

1. Is fluorine the same as fluoride?

Yes.  I mean. no.  I mean, what?  No not really, except for, yes.