March 28, 2024, 07:07:39 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Anatomy of a retro-inverso (tri)peptide -- What's wrong with this picture?  (Read 4172 times)

Offline axelitis

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
The attached image was submitted to me as part of a document for publication as a simple depiction of L- & D-forms of a tripeptide showing the D-form as 'mirror' and reversed order of the L-.  I'm a medical scientist, but my knowledge of enantiomers and peptide chemistry fails to provide me the confidence properly to judge the validity of the figure attached herewith.  I would very much appreciate input from experts who can enlighten me and (I hope) participants who may find the matter of interest.  Thank you!

Offline Babcock_Hall

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +319/-22
Re: Anatomy of a retro-inverso (tri)peptide -- What's wrong with this picture?
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2014, 05:24:23 PM »
I am going to bend a rule of mine, which is not to comment until I have thought about something carefully.  The enantiomer of a tripeptide of L-aminoacids should be the same tripeptide with D-amino acids.  I am having a difficult time seeing why it should reverse which amino acid residue is the N-terminal one.

Offline axelitis

« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2014, 05:32:53 PM »
Thank you very much for your reply.  As I should have mentioned, the actual (20+ AA peptide) was synthesized in reverse (using D-AAs) and was found to be both resistant to peptidases and as, or more, biologically/ therapeutically active than was the L-form. I look forward to yours and all considered opinions.
« Last Edit: September 23, 2014, 08:45:18 PM by axelitis »

Offline kriggy

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +135/-16
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2014, 05:10:50 AM »
Im not realy sure what exactly is your question.
But it seems there is nothing wrong with the picture, it is just analogue of the 1st peptide built from D-amino acids in  reverse order.

Quote from: wikipedia