March 19, 2024, 01:25:19 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Project Proposal ( Challenging Graphene ) Help needed  (Read 3175 times)

Offline ferdin08

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Project Proposal ( Challenging Graphene ) Help needed
« on: November 27, 2014, 02:02:07 PM »
I am a Masters student in Nanotechnology, I am about to start my Career as a PhD candidate by coming august 2015. I want write my Project proposal in 2D materials. I am very confused especially between "Molybdenum Disulphide,Phosphorene and Graphene" still some other 2D materials are out there. But i am sticking with three of these. Graphene is wonderful,beautiful and useIss in Electronics,"Molybdenum Disulphide,Phosphorene" are semi conductors yet graphene is a conductor. have read many research papers and articles stating that Molybdenum Disulphide is better in all ways than Graphene and Phosphorene over Molybdenum Disulphide. I would like you to share your thought on them.

Thank you

Offline Enthalpy

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +304/-59
Re: Project Proposal ( Challenging Graphene ) Help needed
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2014, 07:24:17 PM »
Hi ferdin08,

so you hope to find on a forum someone who can make a rational opinion about graphene vs phosphorene vs molybdene bisulphide as bidimensional semiconductors? Just finding a fellow who has read research papers about them would already be a piece of luck...

My two cents worth of comments:
- I believe to have read that graphene is a semiconductor under the proper conditions: orientation, maybe doping. And for sure, the current through it can be controlled - small electronic circuits have already been made.