April 19, 2024, 02:33:25 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: van der Waals interactions in "Biology"  (Read 4388 times)

Offline LqHII

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1/-0
van der Waals interactions in "Biology"
« on: November 30, 2014, 09:02:51 AM »
Hi, I am a physics student and for a course of biophysics i am attending i have to give a lecture on "van der Waals interactions in Biology".
I think I have found enough material (books, articles, etc.) regarding the physics of these interactions, but I haven't found much on the biological role of them. Indeed, in the material I have found (usually biochemistry books) it is just said that these are very important interactions but it's just that. I haven't found anything deep and quantitative about their role. They say VdW interactions play a key role in the DNA, in the protein folding, etc. but nothing more detailed.

So I would like to ask you if u can suggest me some books or articles or anything else in which I can find something more quantitative and detailed about their role in "biology".

Thanks in advance!

Offline Babcock_Hall

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +321/-22
Re: van der Waals interactions in "Biology"
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2014, 12:28:57 PM »
That is a very large subject.  Do you have a standard textbook in biochemistry?  If not, you need to get access to one.  That would be a good place to start.  Let me ask you a question, when a hormone binds to its receptor, are the bonds between the two generally covalent or noncovalent?

Offline OrgXemProf

• Mole Snacks: +17/-2
    • OrgXhemProf Home Page
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2014, 03:02:46 PM »
Follow-up to Babcock_Hall's suggestions:

1. Please see the online article entitled "Ligand Binding Domain" (i. e., the domain responsible for hormone binding). This article was contributed by members of U. Illionis- Champaign/Urbana's Theoretical & Computational Biophysics Group.

URL: www.ks.uiuc.edu/Research/smd_imd/rar_dna/