March 28, 2024, 05:51:10 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Why does orbital hybridization happen?  (Read 5210 times)

Offline monicad95

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Why does orbital hybridization happen?
« on: December 18, 2014, 07:16:47 AM »
Hi, I'm in my first year of pharmacology and in Mcmurry's textbook (the one with the shell on it, I think it's edition 1?) page 12, it says that the reason that hybridization occurs is because with the sp3 orbital, the two lobes of it are unsymmetrical (one bigger lobe and one smaller lobe), and this allows it to overlap more effectively with another orbital when forming a bond.

However, this is the only place where I've seen that explanation being mentioned.
I thought the reason was because when you mix the s and the p orbitals (which have different energy levels), the hybridisation forms 4 equivalent orbitals all of an average energy (between the s and the p energy levels) which means that it's a lower energy overall and more stable so can form more stable bonds??

Offline Enthalpy

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +304/-59
Re: Why does orbital hybridization happen?
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2014, 08:40:44 AM »
Hi monicad95, welcome here!
Just a note before you get more orthodox answers:

Electrons do what's best for them. Descriptions as orbital combinations is just what we humans would have liked them to do so we can understand their behaviour.

Electrons interact strongly within an atom or a molecule. Though, the only algebraic solutions we have is for the lone hydrogen atom (something rare on Earth), so we pretend to misuse these solutions for atoms and molecules of several electrons and nuclei. This demands strong updates to the model here and there.