April 23, 2024, 01:27:48 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: kinetics of competing reactions  (Read 10928 times)

Offline box

• Mole Snacks: +2/-1
kinetics of competing reactions
« on: December 29, 2014, 02:40:48 AM »
Hi all,

I want to calculate the kinetics of the following system:
A -> B
          }-> BD
C -> D
          }-> DF
E -> F

In short, three parallel 1st order reactions, followed by two competing 2nd order reactions. The first part of the parallel is nailed down, the latter part also when there is no competition (either B + D -> BD or D + F -> DF). However, I fear that when there is a competition between B and F for D, the situation becomes very complicated as the reduction in the concentration of D is the sum of both reaction, which affects both rates.

I studied several Chemical Kinetics books (eg. Foundations of Chemical Kinetics by Benson, Principles of Chemical Kinetics by House, and Organic Reactions and their Mechanism by Maskill), but I would love to find a compilation of a large variety of systems, with their appropriate mathematical equations. I will work on deriving them myself, but being an organic medicinal chemist, this might take a while.

Does anyone know a place where I can find or derive the mathematical equation that describes this system? That would be very helpful.

Many thanks,
« Last Edit: December 29, 2014, 04:03:03 AM by box »

Offline billnotgatez

• Global Moderator
  • Mole Snacks: +223/-62
Re: kinetics of competing reactions
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2014, 03:26:25 AM »
I think someone will be interested in this enough to create a dialog.
But you might want to show some more of your thoughts  about the concepts to add to the conversation.

By the way
The forum rules are available at a link near the  center  page top.
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting
If you have not read them already.

Offline curiouscat

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +121/-35
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2014, 10:18:32 AM »