March 28, 2024, 01:10:00 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Hair styling formulation questions  (Read 3797 times)

Offline BackwoodsBarber

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hair styling formulation questions
« on: December 30, 2014, 01:08:09 PM »
styling product but, I am new to this process. If anyone can give any feedback on if my ratios are close I would appreciate it. Will this give me High hold, low shine, soft to touch pomade/paste. And is it necessary to add a preservative? If so, what is the typical use amount? My formula is based on 118g or 4oz.

Water 53g 45%
Oil 46g 39%

Beeswax  11.25g
Total: 10%
Oil Phase: 22%
Req'd HLB 12
Oil contribution 1x12=12

Shea butter 9.4g
Total: 8%
Req'd HLB 8
Oil contribution 0.8x8=6.4

Petroleum9.4g
Total: 8%
Oil Phase 22%
Req'd HLB 7
Oil contribution 0.8x7= 5.6

Lanolin  11.25g
Req'd HLB 10
Oil contribution 1x10=10

Ceteareth-20
18% to get 22 HLB
HLB 15.2
Use level: 15-30%
21g

PVP
Total: 7%
8g

Hydrogenated castor oil
HLB 15
Total: 10% = 12ml or 12HLB

Glycerin 5% 6ml

Essential oil
Total: 1%
Oil Phase: 2%
 20drops cedar wood, 5 drops sandalwood, 3 drops clary sage and 3 drops Lemongrass

HLB required is 34
« Last Edit: December 30, 2014, 04:39:22 PM by BackwoodsBarber »

Offline billnotgatez

• Global Moderator
  • Mole Snacks: +223/-62
Re: Hair styling formulation questions
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2014, 03:28:14 PM »
Our members follow the forum rules so I expect that you will not get a response or at the best a very limited response.

Due to their potential health hazards, we will also not help you prepare your own medicines or cosmetics.

The link to the rules is near the top center page
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Offline BackwoodsBarber

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2014, 12:44:05 PM »