April 25, 2024, 04:56:42 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: help identifying nonvolatile residues in flash chromatography fractions  (Read 2415 times)

Offline NYCWhite

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hi all.  Let me just say up front, I have been doing this kinda thing for 26 years and have never seen this stuff before.  I ran two columns in the last couple of weeks which, upon evaporation of the appropriate fractions, have shown a non-volatile residue - both physically in the flask, and clearly in the NMR.  Particularly infuriating as I trying to clean up trace products for identification-characterization-publication purposes.   :(

The first I traced to our hexanes - I think it's longer chain alkanes [>= decane etc] as it eventually is removed at the pump.  Easily (!) solved by distilling ~20 L of hexanes and crossing the supplier off my Christmas card list. 

Thinking my problem would be solved, I moved onto my second column.  4:1 hexanes/ether eluant.  Now I have a residue in the CH-X region - 3 broad peaks [almost polymeric?] at 3.8 to 3.4 plus a terminal methyl triplet around 1.2.  Sorry I'm doing this from memory right now so this may not be entirely accurate.  There may be other peaks but they would be under my product signals.  That are otherwise beautiful I might add.

So far I've only checked my CDCl3, CHCl3, hexanes but am working through everything else. I'm guessing this one is from my ether - it varies from sample to sample but has always been turning up in every one.  Right now I'm vaccing solvents and NMRing to isolate the source but I just wondered if anyone else has experienced similar?  My guess is some kind of glyme or maybe a PEG, given the chem shifts, hence my gut feeling its the ether to blame.  Given the earlier hexane problem, I also think this is coming from the supplier, not a lab contaminant.