April 27, 2024, 12:42:28 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Heating Mantles and Sizing  (Read 4746 times)

Offline Bushinryu

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Heating Mantles and Sizing
« on: March 14, 2015, 09:39:08 AM »
I'm not sure if this section is the appropriate one to put this question in, but it seemed like the right place so I hope no one minds.

I've always used digital hotplates in my work rather than heating mantles due to the price difference, but I've decided to try purchasing a mantle or two in different sizes to make use of the benefits they carry over hotplates--such as avoiding scorching certain heat-sensitive matters, for instance--now that I've found some suppliers here in Asia that have some decent prices.

However, as I'm a complete noob when it comes to heating mantles and the use thereof, I need to ask some elementary questions that may seem somewhat silly in here. But please bear with me and my lack of experience with this equipment thus far.

The newly arrived mantle which I set up in the lab today appears to be a bit big for its flask size. It's a 500 ml flask mantle and it may just be my misunderstanding, but I was under the impression that heating flasks are supposed to fit rather snugly into a heating mantle, thus resulting in as much physical contact between the mantle and the flask body to ensure good, even heat distribution. However, upon placing a 500 ml round-bottomed boiling flask into the mantle, I immediately noticed how former actually did NOT fit snugly into the latter; there's quite a bit of "air" around the body of the flask and the inside of the mantle and I'm wondering if this is normal and it's supposed to be like this, of if this is actually due to a poorly designed heating mantle or a flask of "incorrect" standard body-sizing with relation to its capacity.

I've added a couple of photos to try and show you what it looks like...