April 19, 2024, 04:59:51 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Unexpected Result from Home Experiment  (Read 5657 times)

Offline Kemistry Kaiser

• Mole Snacks: +2/-0
  • Sophomore chemistry major
Unexpected Result from Home Experiment
« on: May 27, 2015, 11:27:05 AM »
Hey all,

*For context, I'm a sophomore chemistry student at Penn State so excuse my ignorance of advanced chemistry concepts.

Recently my friend and I have been extracting lithium from the core of AA energizer batteries and adding it to water. Long story short, it was a gateway reaction, and lead to us yearning for more of a show. I bought some HCl and misc. safety equipment from a hardware store and we've been using the acid instead of water which, as predicted, makes for a much more vigorous reaction. This led to us purchasing mineral oil to store the lithium under so we could drop a handful of semi-tarnished lithium metal into the acid all at once. When I did this, however, the solo cup of acid I added the lithium to simply began bellowing large quantities of  an unknown colorless gas, which continued for minutes, contrary to the quick, fiery reaction we were observing earlier. I'm assuming the mineral oil that was coating the lithium prevented it from igniting, but why the gas? The lithium didn't produce any noticeable gasses before under the same exact conditions without being stored under mineral oil, so what is the mineral oil doing to the reaction that's inducing the production of this gas? A professional opinion would be very much appreciated.

Also, is there any chance that the black iron disulfide (that acted as the cathodic strip in the batteries) will decompose into Dihydrogen sulfide or sulfur dioxide? I don't want to poison myself but at the same time would like to explore its properties. Thanks to anyone that responds! ;D

Alec B.
Penn State class of '18
Prospective chemist

Offline curiouscat

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +121/-35
Re: Unexpected Result from Home Experiment