March 19, 2024, 07:20:27 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Loosen clumped salt using sound?  (Read 4029 times)

Offline zeek1029

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Loosen clumped salt using sound?
« on: May 27, 2015, 08:54:15 PM »
As will soon become obvious, I'm not a scientist. A highschool Physics class represents the extent of my education in this field, so please forgive my ignorance.

The gist of what I am wanting to do is loosen clumped salt (sodium chloride) using sound. In case it's relevant - the salt must remain dry, and the temperature must remain around room temperature.

My questions are:

1. Where is this on the spectrum between ("Every highschool physics student does this experiement.") and ("That's impossible!")?

2. Are there any specific search terms which I can use to further research this? Apparently I don't have enough of the vocabulary, because I cannot find anything.

3. Can this be done using basic equipment which I can rig up, or would it require the purchase of specific equipement?

4. Is the "resonance frequency" of salt relevant here (similar to shattering a glass using sound)? Is that value even known?

Just to clarify, I've seen other threads discussing methods for breaking salt into it's base elements, or extracting Hydrogen. I am NOT interested in these things. I simply want to loosen up / break apart salt crystals. Thanks in advance for any responses.

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1799/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline zeek1029

Re: Loosen clumped salt using sound?
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2015, 01:58:05 PM »
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sonication