April 26, 2024, 01:34:36 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Oxidation of myristic acid in a skeletal muscle cell  (Read 7772 times)

Offline Bio_student

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Oxidation of myristic acid in a skeletal muscle cell
« on: July 10, 2015, 02:13:51 PM »
Hello Folks,

I'm a Biochemistry student trying to do some extra work over the summer and to get ahead in my next year at university. I've been doing some problems/questions based on what is available for download at my university intranet site/black board. One of the practice questions has me stumped and I hoped to ask for some help if at all possible?

The whole point of the exercise is to calculate the maximum realizable ATP yield per mole of myristic acid being fully oxidized to CO2 and H2O in a skeletal muscle cell under aerobic conditions. I'm trying to understand the step-by-step calculation so as to compare to other substrates such as glucose if that makes sense? I've never really done anything like this before and Biochemistry isn't my field (I'm more animals, plants and ecology).

So far what I know is that Myristoyl CoA is the product of the activation of myristic acid (C14:0) in the cytoplasm of a cell with a low energy charge, prior to transport to the mitochondria for beta-oxidation. The overall reaction of beta-oxidation of myristoyl CoA in the mitochondrial matrix of an animal cell is:

6 FAD + 6 NAD+ + 6 CoASH + 6 H2O + H(CH2CH2)6CH2CO-SCoA  -->  7 CH3CO-SCoA + 6 FADH2 + 6 NADH + 6 H+
« Last Edit: July 10, 2015, 02:26:28 PM by Bio_student »

Offline Bio_student

Re: Oxidation of myristic acid in a skeletal muscle cell
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2015, 03:00:12 PM »
I'm sitting trying to work this all out.

Basically, what I have for this so far is that Mistric Acid has 14 Carbons and goes through 4 rounds to be fully converted. After which it produces 7 CH3CO-SCoA + 6 FADH2 + 6 NADH + 6 H+ right?