March 29, 2024, 05:21:44 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Difference between "pathway" and "process" in Biochemistry  (Read 7168 times)

Offline physxyq

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Difference between "pathway" and "process" in Biochemistry
« on: November 04, 2015, 12:21:46 AM »
Hi everyone,
I'm new in biochemistry and curious about some terms in this area. For example, "signal-transduction pathway", "metabolic pathway", and so on. I'm confused about the usage of the word "pathway". Once I presented it as "signal-transduction process", but one teacher in this field told me that "pathway" is different from "process" and CANNOT be replaced by "process". He explained that the two words are inclusion relation, that one "pathway" contains a series of "processes". Then I searched the two words in Collins Dictionary:

pathway:
A pathway is a particular course of action or a way of achieving something.

process:
A process is a series of actions which are carried out in order to achieve a particular result.

but I'm still unclear about the differences between them. So can anyone give me some directions to solve this confusion?

Thanks very much!

Offline sjb

• Global Moderator
  • Mole Snacks: +222/-42
Re: Difference between "pathway" and "process" in Biochemistry
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2015, 02:30:36 AM »
I'm not 100% sure on this, but consider

Glucose-1-phosphate  :rarrow: Glucose-6-phosphate as in the Krebs' cycle.

One pathway is G-1-P :rarrow: G :rarrow: G-6-P, another is G-1-P :rarrow: G-1,6-diP :rarrow: G-6-P, and there may even be G-1-P :rarrow: G-1,4-diP :rarrow: G-4-P :rarrow: G-4,6-diP :rarrow: G-6-P (hypothetically, at least)

So there are different pathways to achieve this, but the process is essentially phosophorylation at C-6, and dephospohorylation at C-1

Offline physxyq

« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2015, 03:14:13 AM »
I'm not 100% sure on this, but consider

Glucose-1-phosphate  :rarrow: Glucose-6-phosphate as in the Krebs' cycle.