March 29, 2024, 04:33:35 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Quaternary ammonium synthesis and counter-ion exchange  (Read 6452 times)

Offline Reddart

• Mole Snacks: +3/-0
Quaternary ammonium synthesis and counter-ion exchange
« on: January 26, 2016, 08:02:18 PM »
Does anyone have any reviews or other references to quaternary ammonium synthesis and counterion exchange. This is a new area for me, and I am making quats attached to (mostly) hydrophobic molecules.

Amines, a good nucleophile...halides are good leaving groups...solubility???...goopy products....emulsions....ahhhhhhhh! :'(

Offline TheUnassuming

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +48/-1
Re: Quaternary ammonium synthesis and counter-ion exchange
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2016, 07:43:20 AM »
I have some experience making a small library of quat amines, though the work hasn't been published yet so I can't shoot you a ref for it.  Precipitation/crystallization/trituration and ion exchange resins were my best friend in purification of the small molecule derivatives.  If your compounds are large enough you might also look into small MW dialysis tubing to help clean it up (and the subsequent lyophilization made the compounds a wonderful fluffy powder). 
When in doubt, avoid the Stille coupling.

Offline Babcock_Hall

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +319/-22
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2016, 01:11:15 PM »
I have often wondered whether or not solid phase extraction on a hydrophobic support might work for this class of compounds (we make pyridinium derivatives BTW), but I don't recall seeing any papers on this.

Offline zuriel

• Mole Snacks: +2/-1
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2016, 06:07:31 PM »