April 26, 2024, 03:01:15 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Mechanism help  (Read 2581 times)

Offline ma_he_sal

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Mechanism help
« on: May 18, 2016, 09:05:26 PM »
Hi. Can someone help me with this reaction? I need to propose the mechanism and the tip I have is the mechanism follows a non-classical carbocation route. The asterisk is an isotopic label.

Offline vnaraya3

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Re: Mechanism help
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2016, 10:27:55 PM »

I am assuming that this is incredibly low yield, and that water is added in a LARGE excess (although still I would have expected the question-writer to put "H3O+", not "H2O"). Even considering all this, this still seems like an unlikely process to me (although I am just a student) - but nonetheless I can attempt to justify most of the steps.
I wrote a number below each arrow, so I can explain/justify it below:

1.) I just rewrote it in a planar conformation. There's no stereochemistry because it's meso.

2.) LiAlH4 is a hydride reagent. Hydride attacks the starred carbon, which opens the epoxide (favorable because of ring strain), forming an alkoxide

3.) The alkoxide abstracts a proton from water to make an alcohol.

4.) *For some unknown reason* water protonates the -OH group again, turning it into OH2+, good leaving group. (This would make a lot more sense if it was H3O+, not H2O, in the problem!)

5.) Loss of OH2 produces a secondary carbocation

6.) An favorable alkyl shift occurs, to produce a benzyl carbocation (stabilized by resonance). I pretend there was stereochemistry in this step to make the next part more clear.

7.) I just rewrote it in a different conformation - now the starred carbon is going "into the page"

8.) Another alkyl shift occurs for unknown reasons (it's meso again so I stopped writing stereochemistry)